Government and Politics

‘The EC’s Results Is Flawed And Discredited, We Reject The Presidential Election’ – Haruna Iddrisu | Video






The Minority Leader of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) Haruna Iddrisu has indicated that the party has rejected the outcome of the December 7 polls.





Haruna Iddrisu did not hold back in his reaction to the declaration of Nana Akufo-Addo as winner of the 2020 presidential election.

According to the party, the election was flawed and that it does not recognise incumbent President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo as the rightfully elected President of Ghana.





Addressing the press late Wednesday evening, Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu said: “We roundly reject and outrightly reject the declaration of the sitting president as the winner of the 2020 elections. In due course, our flagbearer will brief the nation and the international community”.





“We want to say that it’s a flawed election and therefore we reject it without any reservation, we reject the presidential elections as announced by the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission [Jean Mensa]. And we also want to serve notice that the blatant effort to deny us a parliamentary majority will be fiercely resisted. We know that the good people of Ghana gave us a mandate and that mandate includes a parliamentary majority… Overwhelming evidence available to us make it difficult for us to accept these results,” he insisted.




“We won Techiman South, which gives us a majority in parliament. We all heard that it was being contested, by whom, we don’t know. We demand an immediate collation, as has been done in other constituencies”, Haruna Iddrisu.





Ghana’s democracy has come under severe attack and needs urgent action. It is regrettable to note that before the declaration, John Dramani Mahama filed a protest to the EC, it was treated with utmost contempt, Haruna Iddrisu added.

Watch the video below:

The Returning Officer of the 2020 Presidential Election, Jean Mensa after a keenly contested poll, declared President Nana Akufo-Addo as the winner of the Presidential election.





She said Akufo-Addo won by polling 6,730,413 of the votes cast, representing 51.295% while John Mahama trailed behind with 6,214,889 representing 47.366%.

Jean Mensa explained that the results exclude Techiman South constituency which is currently being disputed.







Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button